Aimig- Association of Italian Friends of the Israel Museum in Jerusalem- we focus our activities on cultural cooperation with the Israel Museum following 4 main guidelines:

  1. Supporting the award of scholarships to Italian students aimed at internships at the Museum
  2. Funding the study of Italian art treasures within the Museum Youth Wing (dedicated to children) to foster joint jewish-palestinian educational and artistic cooperation
  3. Promoting Italian contemporary artists through personal or collective exhibitions in the contemporary art wing of the Museum
  4. Fundraising for the restructuring and maintenance of the Italian art wing of the Museum.

The Israel Museum is the largest cultural institution in the country. Over the last 50 years since its foundation in 1965 it has grown thanks to large patrons’ donations, hosting more than 500.000 art objects and artifacts. It has become one of the world’s most important museums, ranked 72nd with almost a million visitors per year and a truly vast exhibition site area. As can be seen from the above photo, the extended site includes the Shrine of the Book which houses the Dead Sea scrolls found in caves near Qumran, dating over 2000 years from the third century BCE to the first century CE.

About 20 buildings make up various pavilions and a vast Sculpture park, the Rose Garden, exhibiting many Land Art masterpieces.
Pride of place goes to the Ruth Youth Wing, inaugurated in 1966, dedicated to the youngest, and their parents and educators, which provides artistic and cultural innovative programs in a unique experience of learning through play and fun. Over 100.000 children benefit yearly from schools drawn from all over the country, with jewish , arab and other backgrounds in an attempt to build bridges through development of individual and collective art education , going beyond social, religious and cultural barriers of adults

The Board 

Executive Committee

Davide Blei

Alessia Panella

Manuela Schapira
Vice President

Alessandra Altieri


Giselda Ancona

Paola Gradi


Alberto Sabbadini
Honorary President

Lionel Ceresi

Marilena Citelli Francese

Sandra De Benedetti Bohm